AWESOME AUGUST TOY HAUL [2019]

glad hulk1

It’s the end of another month indoors in hermit town. I’ve managed to complete my game on Assassin’s Creed 27.5 aka Origins doing all the side quests and my game time got to around 120 hours, and I’m already 80 hours into Odyssey and loving it to bits.

I’ve been keeping up year long trips twice a week to the beach for exercise which is still winter cold swimming water at this time of year, and of course I’ve been stockpiling action figures to mess around with in my excessive spare time.

I don’t give a flying flippity flip about G.I. Joe, but it is an iconic 80s property from my childhood and the new figures are quite nice so I gave them a go. I never had any kind of Joe’s or vehicles as a kid, so I have no particular standard desired, and I can only name about five characters.

joe1

The Classified line are basically Marvel Legends style in their build quality and articulation, and they have excellent face sculpts. The box has some nice comic book style artwork and I have to say I am really enjoying this line and will pick up whatever I can get a hold of.
SDC13896

I also picked up my favorite of the Ghostbusters, old Venkman Murray, and it’s pretty good. I’ll get the other three some time, but so many good figures have been after my attention that they will have to wait.

SDC14017

My favorite thing I have picked up this month is the most excellent DIAMOND select Gladiator Hulk, the one from the Thor movie, as they also have a skinnier Gladiator Hulk  in the comic book art style.

SDC14021
Stupid pjyama man can’t beat hulk

The size and scale of the DIAMOND Hulk is just awesome, his joints are nice and strong and he can his impressive weapons up without any trouble.

SDC14026

Along with this Hulk I also lucked upon some old stock of the movie two pack Hulkbuster and Movie Hulk from the Marvel Legends line, it was on sale at the price of just one of those figures, and both of them loose now go for far more each than I paid for both on the aftermarket. You can never have too many Hulks!

hulkamania

The Dragon Ball Super line from the inferior Bandai of America is roosting in and piling up around here, they are cheap and mostly not good. But if you like a figure to sit there that looks at least 60% like what it ought to be with fairly useless articulation, they are not too shabby. I can’t recommend them at all, but they are better than nothing. The Cell and Cooler figures are the stand outs from my recent pick ups.

SDC14047

The Hulkbuster pack was an absolute bargain, it was out of stock for a year, and then oddly back in stock at an online shop I regularly buy from. I guess they found some more in the warehouse? Who knows.

SDC14034

More sale price bargains to be had I picked up another Man of Steel evil Kryptonian from the Play Arts Kai line for around half price.

SDC14036

Faora is a pretty cool figure in the jet black outfit and comes with a couple of nice weapons. The box has some very swish presentation and cool toy photography.

faro1

The stand is not a good design and falls apart easily, but it’s mostly stable if you get it right and don’t move it.

play arts kai man of steel faora wonder woman dc mcf

I’ve been watching and waiting to pick up either the old SW Black Vader cheap or the reissue of that same said Vader out this year – and it finally came into stock on Amazon AU. I ordered it and had it in less than a week, unlike most of my orders on there which typically take around two months+ to arrive.

vader1

top of the fridge trinity

Despite picking up a McFarlane Superman and having its arm snap clean off right out of the package, I still bought some more figures from the line. This time the two movie Wonder Woman’s from earlier in the year.  Both of which I love for their excellent paint and details.

ww dc mcf123

On sale for around half price online I picked up Legends Blink and Black Bolt. Black Bolt I like from the old F4 comics, while Blink is just a cool design and she will go with my X-Men characters, as I have no interest in The Exiles.

world of marvel1

Out of the package and I really like the scale of this Gladiator Hulk, Movie Wonder Woman and Classified Duke. Wonder Woman is around 7″ so Hulk is freaking huge, DIAMOND do a great job with their monsters and hulking behemoths.

mcf wonder woman dc hulk gladiator duke gijoe

I managed to JUST get in an order in for local stock of some NECA TMNT figures, a line which I have been enjoying very much, the movie and toon figures are super sweet.

neca tmnt leatherhead arcade

I bought the Slash / Leatherhead two pack mainly for Slash.

neca tmnt leatherhead toon slash two pack

And I could not decide which version of Leatherhead was nicer, so I bought both and I have no regrets. I was going to sell whichever one I did not like, but I love them both.

leatherhead neca tmnt arcade vs toon figure

Digging out some older toys from the tubs I put my movie style Rugrats on my animation themed shelf

rugrats1 toon shelf

I chucked the recent McFarlane Animated Batman in here too. It’s a horrible figure, don’t buy it, totallt off model and terrible joints/articulation – but it’ll do for now. I also added in Blue Falcon from the SCOOB! movie toyline.

batman animated mcfarlane scooby doo movie blue falcon alex toth

I unboxed my NECA Bebop and Rocksteady and swapped out my Classics Rocksteady, this is a temporary home until I get my Turtles shelf put up later in the year. Also from the SCOOB! toyline is Muttley bottom right. A simple but very cool figure.

batman bebop rocksteady muttley scoob neca tmnt

Quickly than you can say FAATHERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!

We’re at the end of another toy haul.

fatherrrrrr RESIZED

Leave a comment