TOP 5 UPCOMING TITANS RETURNS TOYS I AM MOST EXCITED ABOUT

triple changer titans return megatron.jpg

5. TITANS RETURN TRIPLECHANGER MEGATRON

A good looking Megatron with a nice jet mode and “meh” tank mode that is passable, but unspectacular in any way. I love the bot mode, but he is a bit plain looking. I guess Takara will add some nice flourishes here and there with their version – but I will be quite satisfied with the vanilla Beige-Bot from Hasbro that I already pre-ordered. He looks like another fun toy along with Astro Train and other voyager class dolls. I mean action figure super-robots, or whatever you want to call them.

titans return twinferno aka doublecross.jpg

4. TITANS RETURN DOUBLECROSS (A.K.A. TWINFERNO)

If you’ve read this blog, then you know I love Doublecross. He’s the character I use as my Avatar picture for this blog, and my favourite Generation 1 toy. The new update has a cool Headmasters cartoon look to him, rather than the look of the toy. I really dig it, and like Megs and a certain ninja six-changer – have already pre-ordered him. Can’t wait for this one to arrive! The dragon heads look just like the carton, and the bot mode is pretty cool, if I’m going to nitpick, his back is strangely hollow and empty, looks a bit rubbish, but I don’t display my figures backwards so I don’t care.

titans returns sky shadow black shadow 1.JPG

3. TITANS RETURN BLACK SHADOW / SKY SHADOW

I’ve wanted  a nice modern Black Shadow / Sky Shadow toy that looks more like the IDW comics version for ages. The G1 toy is nice, but I don’t want it. This new version ticks the right kind of boxes for me. He looks like a total bad-ass, and I am equally excited for his inevitable retool into everyone’s favourite IDW sadist – Overlord!!!!! Who saw that coming (pre-tease/reveal) NOBODY that’s who. Black Shadow is a definite buy for me. Look at him! He’s friggin awesome! Check out that head, those details, that paint scheme! He’s kind of my number one most wanted, except two other toys somehow pushed him back to #3 on the list and man is he PISSED about it, look at that face! **drool** I’ll be all over him like jam on toast.

titans returns sky shadow black shadow 2.JPG

2. TITANS RETURN SIXSHOT

Six_Shot_titans returns.jpg

The original bad-ass six changing (actually seven modes, but the 7th mode is just as shit as his other modes) ninja bad-ass robot you send for when you absolutely, positively have to kill ever last mother fucker in the room. When it’s time for scorched earth baby and no survivors, you call Sixshot. Loyal, lethal another total bad-ass. The opportunity to have Sixshot, Megatron and Sky Shadow (and Overlord!!!) together in one modern toy line is like a dream come true.  I think Sky Shadow looks better as a toy, but man Sixshot would eat him for breakfast and shit him out by lunch.

Yeah, he’s awesome. I’ve preordered Sixshot already. I was tempted by DX-9’s very toon accurate Sixshot which is undeniably gorgeous, but I want a TOY to play with, rather than a MP style super-detailed statue of Sixshot that scales with nothing I own.  Who wants a six changer that you never change for fear of breaking it? No thanks. Titans Sixshot is chunky and cool, he’s a bit basic but he’s clearly going for the G1 toy look, and not so much the cartoon or comic book look as Dx9’s equally awesome toy is. If I was an MP collector, I’d be getting both, you can’t go wrong with either toy imo.

SIXSHOT.jpg

Why did I use a render of Sixshot and not a photo from one of the toy convention press? Well on the day of the event (as EVERYBODY already knows…*sigh*) they lost his head and had to make another one, so the pictures on display show a model-makers last minute effort head, and not his actual head so THAT’s why.

Trypticon g1 toon.png

1. TITANS RETURN TRYPTICON

Will Titans Trypticon be gigantic and epic and awesome?

Probably.

Will he scale with…anything?

Unlikely.

Do I even care?

Hmmm. No.

Will the original Dino Tripper-CON be of a better build quality than Titans Return Fortress Maximus (a.k.a. the leaning tower of Iacon) – I sure hope so.

WHAT I WANT TO SEE: My fingers are crossed that Titans Trypticon will not only be worth owning, but something to get excited about. Not just another slavish remake/reimagining but a toy that actually screams “HOLY CRAP THIS IS AWESOME BUY ME YOU BASTARDS!” – a toy so exciting as to defy all logical sense and inspire sub-literate gibbering and foaming at the mouth, and misuse of the english language.

THINGS I DON’T WANT TO SEE: Naked Donald Trump with a dinosaur face. A giant ZOID-alike with Trypticons head. A boring alt-mode. A boring Dino-Godzilla bot with nothing that makes him unique. Lazy paint apps. No cool accessories.

What if anything could Trypticon be retooled into I wonder? Only one thing comes to mind – another Trypticon such as the Beast Wars Gigatron version of the Generation 1 toy. Mostly it was the same toy re-released with a few different bells and whistles and an overly inflated price tag. You know – like every Fanboy pants wetting variant ever. IT’s kind of cool, I dig the bigger horn – but what’s up with the green racing dots down his back? UGH!

transformers beast wars gigatron.jpg

So far we have seen a teaser of a leg (WOW!)  for Titans Tripper-DON, which may or may not be indicative of his final scale. I’m guessing he will shorter than Titans Fortress Maximus, as Trypticon and dinosaurs/Godzilla in general tend to be longer than they are tall.

Gigastorm Beast Wars Trypticon.jpg

So I’m guessing Trypticon will we rather long, and maybe hunched down a bit more like say the T-Rex in Jurassic Park, than the more upright Generation 1 toy that resembles Godzilla/Mechagodzilla. But who knows, he could end up being just as tall as Fort Max, while being long as well, making him a total pain in the ass to find a spot for in just about any collection space-wise.

I want him to be epic and awe-inspiring and scary and give you that HELL YEAH HE’S BACK!!! both fists pumping in the air Rocky type moment when the final toy is revealed and I’m cautiously optimistic we will get something like that.

trex jurassic park kicks ass and takes names.jpg

rock statue.jpeg

Unlike Titans Fort Max, who I knew I would buy the moment he was announced, I’ll be waiting for final reveals and possible reviews before buying Trypticon, especially seeing as there is a third party War for Cybertron Trypticon toy right around the corner, and I will likely choose one rather than both of these toys. Unless they both happen to be phenomenal. Then I gotta catch em all.

WFC TRYPTICON redner.jpg
He’s Bad He’s Cool…He’s Nobodies Fool

Fortunately I just purchased the Platinum Edition G1 reissue of the original Trypticon, so after several decades of “gotta have that” I will finally be able to enjoy the original toy. Really, if you are  a Trypticon fan, it’s good news all around, as soon enough there will be something to satisfy just about everybodies tastes. I guess the next sensible thing will have to a Legion class or Deluxe/Leader Trypticon, most likely from another third party just to keep things interesting. Iron Factory have done a FANTASTIC representation of Scorponok, and I really hope those guys are the first out the gate with a small scale Trippy-CON in the same size as their Scorponok. I’d buy the fuck out of that.

trypticon vs scorponok.jpg

Well that is another bunch of words sent off into the ether, some more posts on Marvels’s TF Comics will be following shortly. Already written them, but you know, editing and stuff.

Enjoy BOT-FANS!

Leave a Reply

