TOP 5 TITANS RETURNS TOYS (so far)

transformers-titans-return-fortress-maximus-concept-art-image-00

MY TOP 5 TITANS RETURNS TOYS (so far)

Playing with Transformers toys for a kid is a chance to walk in a fictional world, even if for a moment, a chance to see the world through the eyes of their favourite character, to imagine their own battles and stories taking shape. In a kid’s imagination, characters come to life, reality bends a little and we find ourselves in the place where pure imagination, fiction and fantasy meet, it’s an in between place that is its own kind of magic, neither fully here, nor there.

As adults we have so many other considerations in our daily lives, and all kinds of boring “serious” stuff (as well as the good stuff). But messing about with Transformers is an excuse for valuable and often neglected “play time”.  In that spirit, here are my personal TOP 5 TITANS RETURNS TOYS (so far), the ones that to me are the most fun. It’s not about what is slavishly accurate to this or that, or the toy with the best paint job (hey it’s not a fashion contest alright), it’s a list of the toys that are not afraid to be toys.

5. TITANS RETURN CHROMEDOME

chromedome titas return batfan john.JPG

I’ve only just started watching the Headmasters cartoon for the first time this year, and getting familiar with characters I’ve only seen previously in toy catalogs back in the 80s.

The Chromedome toy is a welcome surprise – as in how much I am enjoying this toy. I’m not a car guy, I love G1 and MP Sideswipe, he’s cool, sexy and red and goes fast – but other than that I don’t care for cars. Chromedome is not a character I expected to care for or like, but he is really growing on me. I like him in both the Headmasters cartoon and the IDW comics. How a weird two tones of Brown-mobile has captured my imagination so much, I don’t know.

chromedome titas return batfan john 22.JPG

His head sculpt is wonderful, the details on such a budget priced toy are so very welcome and surprising with the overall trend of cheaper plastics, less detail etc than the glory days of the higher quality CHUG toys. Sure his limbs feel light and cheap and pop off far too easy like all the other Deluxes, but I don’t care. He’s awesome and I really dig this toy. He has so much personality to him. I like him so much so I’ve already pre-ordered his repaint character in the Wave 3 Deluxes. I also really like the drivers cockpit for the titan master, it’s my favourite out of the bunch, the little headmaster driver guy looks very cool in his sporty weird two-tone brown car.

4.TITANS RETURN HARDHEAD

Hardhead is just such a great looking toy – both the HASBRO and Takara versions look gorgeous. You really can’t go wrong with Hardhead. his cool long cannon gun can be held in hand or shoulder mounted, the gun fits well on his vehicle mode, he has loads of options for little Titan Masters climbing aboard, helming weapons.

titans return hardhead space jockey mode.jpg

Hardhead is just such a fun Transformers toy to play with, with plenty of options for fan modes including a 4 legged mech or 2 legged Diaclone style battle suit. Hardhead is fun to pose and has loads of options for how to display the little titan masters. My favourite so far is the Space Jockey Mode from Alien. Plus if you put a green KO Megatron head on him, he looks pretty sweet.

Hardhead Megatron head titans return.jpg

hardhead-megatron-head-titans-return-lean-green-and-mean

magnus dies cerebros hardhead.JPG

3. TITANS RETURN CEREBROS (the head of Fortress Maximus)

Fortress Maximus arrived before his other headmaster buddies, so I’ve had him the longest. I bought him as I’ve always wanted a Fortress Maximus, and the Titans Return version is much more affordable then the vintage or reissue Fort Max’s.  As cool as he is, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice Cerebros is. He’s a very nice desk-bot!

cerebros and star saber fist bump.JPG
Two dudes, who turns into bigger dudes, who turns into bigger dudes

His transformation is simple, clean and fun. His colors and head look cool, even if they are very different to the cartoon character. Overall he is just a great Retro-looking, feeling and transforming bot. He’s been on my PC desk for a while now with other headmasters, and he’s even staring at me with a stoic expression as I write this post.

astro train titans return riding sentinel prime tain.jpg

2. TITANS RETURN ASTROTRAIN

Titans Astro is not quite G1 Astro, not toy or toon, he is his own kind of thing.  A fresh new take on an old favourite. Amid the cries of “he’s too this” and “NOT ENOUGH OF THAT YOU CHEAP BASTARDS!!!” – it is easy to miss how great a toy he is.

astro train titans return locked and loaded.JPG

To look at him for what he is, rather than what he is not is to see a really well designed toy, with fun alt modes, and fun transformations between those modes. He is by far my favourite toy of the line so far. I also have Sentinel Prime, and enjoy that toy a lot too. They both have loads of cool poses, places to attach weapons and accessories (like the titan master mini vehicles) and Astro looks good with a good range of different heads.

astro train titans return locked and loaded with cerebros head swap.JPG

Astro Train has been my favourite character to play the head swap game with, he looks good with Galvatron’s head and my favourite head swap so far is Cerebros, with the grey and black head matching Astro’s colors nicely. It’s a bit of robot cosplay, or a new character altogether if you fancy a repaint, a head swap and bit of imagined fiction.

BLASTER BLASTING AT YOU.JPG

1. TITANS RETURN BLASTER

I wanted to put AstroTrain at number one this list, he’s my favourite by far out of the line for so many reasons, particularly his very fun transformations. However Blaster wins out partly for sentimental reasons (I like him way more as a character over Astro) and partly because I really wanted a Marvel Comics style Blaster, in a modern style, with the bulk and size of the Generation One toy. Titans Return Blaster is all of those things. Fun to pose, a great looking toy, cool transformations, and an updated boombox mode that makes those Device Label and Fall of Cybertron Blaster toys look even more silly. Titans Blaster is cool, and he knows it. He’s got style, class and attitude. What is not to love?

blaster and krang.JPG

Leave a Reply

